IEEE YESIST12 2022 Project Contest – Prelims

IEEE YESIST12 is an international talent show, where students and young professionals expose their budding immaculate ideas to resolve the social and humanitarian issues. To unify social responsibility and ethics in young minds through activities and to encourage service-oriented Engineering practice, YESIST12 has started. An international talent show, IEEE YESIST 12 (Youth Endeavours for Social Innovation using Sustainable Technology) (SS12) is a platform for the students and young professionals to showcase their fresh pristine ideas to find the key to humanitarian and social issues affecting directly the community around them.

Jansons Institute of Technology IEEE Student Branch (JIT-IEEE SB) has been recognized by IEEEYESIST12 as a pilot to conduct the prelims of the international contest. JIT IEEE SB is one of the 16 pilots globally. JIT IEEE SB is one of very few pilots who have conducted the event in a physical mode. The pilots will conduct the prelims Project contest and select the best projects submitted to the pilot and the shortlisted projects will be competing globally in the Grand Finale which is to be held at Bangalore on 10th and 11th of September 2022.

JIT IEEE SB as a self-driven activity of JIT-Institution Innovation Council (JIT-IIC) has organized the prelims project contest in line with the requirements of IEEE YESIST12 2022 on 12.08.2022 at Jansons Institute of Technology.

Totally, 63 projects (178 students) from around 23 colleges registered for the contest. In total 153 students from 15 colleges participated in IEEE YESIST12 2022 Prelims. Out of these 153 students, 18 students were IEEE members and 135 students were non-IEEE members. Totally 53 projects were contested.

The registration for the event starts by 8:30 am. And the inaugural function of the event is organized at Sivaganga Auditorium, Jansons Institute of Technology. Dr.S. Elangovan, Vice Principal of JIT had delivered his opening remarks. In his opening remarks, he had elaborated the benefits of IEEE membership and created awareness on IEEE as a professional forum, since major crowd was non-IEEE members. He also thrown light on the IEEE YESIST12 and motivated all the participants to participate and win over the contests of this nature.

Mr.Johnson Rubenraj, the industrial evaluator was given a memento by Dr.S. Elangovan.

We had four different tracks namely Innovation Challenge track, Maker Fair track, We Power track and Special track.

The details of each track are as follows:

  • In the Innovation Challenge track, we had 102 actively participating participants and thirty (30) teams in it. The top 7 teams from IC track won among the 30 teams and are moving towards the finale.
  • In the Maker Fair track, we had 26 actively participating participants and nearly seven teams in it. The top 3 teams from MF track won among the seven teams and are moving towards the finale.
  • In the We Power track, we had 15 actively participating participants and nearly 4 teams in it. The top 3 teams from We Power track won among the four teams and are moving towards the finale
  • In the Special track we had 8 actively participating participants and nearly 3 teams in it.

Totally 13 projects were shortlisted in the Prelims round and all the 13 projects were recommended to the IEEE YESIST12 Grand Finale.

The Jurys for the evaluation of the projects were Mr.X. Johnson Rubenraj, Software Project Developer (SWPD), Bosch Global Software Solutions (Robert Bosch), Mr.M. Krishnakumar, AP-Mech, Ms.P. Eshwari, AP-ECE and Ms.A. Praveena, AP-CSE.

The various evaluation criteria considered were Concept, Novelty, Technical implementation, Feasibility of solution, Expandability, Prototype and Pitching.

Mr.R.S. Heyram, Chair, JIT IEEE SB and Ms.P G Shruthi, Chair, JIT IEEE Women In Engineering Affinity Group were the student coordinator incharges of the programme. More than 25 JIT IEEE volunteers under the guidance of Mr.Heyram and Ms. Shruthi have organized the programme in a fantabulous manner.

The shortlisted projects were announced in the Valedictory function and the selection certificates were distributed to the shortlisted projects by the Juries of the Project contest Mr. Johnson Rubenraj, Mr.M. Krishnakumar, Ms.P. Eshwari and Ms.A. Praveena.